top of page

Softball Dads


This post is for you if you knew exactly what a “softball dad” is. They are of a different breed within the softball world, someone you do not know when to love or dislike. At times they drive you crazy and resemble a monster, and other times you believe they deserve a trophy for being the awesome person that they are. I was lucky enough to have one of these softball dads.

The monster grew during softball practice, when I was just eight years old. All I heard was “Hey Chris, could you grab a glove and help out,” Chris being my father. From there my dedication to the game became passionate, all thanks to that one practice. Since then my dad has been training me, and through this experience I have not only learned my softball skills, but how to put up and appreciate a softball dad.

Having a softball dad is not all rainbow and butterflies. I will be honest and most of you will agree with me that it can be frustrating. During my Brooklawn Park days, my father use to make me run to a specific rock at the park when I did not play up to my abilities. During the time it made me furious but now I look back and just laugh. He did all that he did because he believed in me in way nobody else did. So as a thank you to all the softball dads out there, here is a guide for players to learn how to deal with these monsters.

Do you think he is making you practice too much?

There is a difference between practicing so much that your throwing arm may be bothering you or practicing just to make you a better player. If your arm or any other part of your body hurts because of softball, then politely tell your dad that your health in the long run is more important than practicing for one hour. Dads, listen to your daughters! Softball injuries at young ages occur more often than you may think. You will regret pushing your daughters health to limits she cannot handle. Now ladies, if you think practice is getting in the way of your social life or sitting on the couch at home, remember that your softball friends are a big part of your social life. Think to yourself, what would you do without all your softball buddies? Practicing is a lot more beneficial to yourself rather than shopping at the mall or watching your favorite TV show.

Is he making you go to bed early because you have early morning games the next day?

When you are young you may not realize how much of an impact rest can be on your softball abilities. Having a good night rest will help you perform to your full potential. As a college student, I wish I had my dad on my side to tell me to go to bed early before game day. Listen to him, you may be mad at him during that moment but you will thank him the next day after you play four games in a row.

Does he purchase softball equipment for you every Christmas and birthday, even when you wanted anything other than that?

When I was a young girl all I wanted for Christmas or my birthday was in style clothes, shoes, and technology. I remember one Christmas being so excited to open up the biggest gift in the house. It took me one tear at the wrapping paper to realize what it was, a softball net. You can only imagine my face of disappointment that Christmas morning. Now that I have to purchase college books, my own softball equipment, and any other items I may need, I realized how lucky I was to receive those items. Remember, softball bats and gloves are not cheap; your dad is purchasing them because he wants you to be the best player with the best equipment. Next time instead giving an eye roll, flash him a big smile and thank you for the awesome gifts!

Signing you up for clinics you did not even know about until the morning of?

I have had my fair share of Saturday mornings waking up to my dad yelling, “Get up Sarah, you need to get ready for the softball clinic today!” In frustration I would roll out of bed and give my dad the usual speech on how it was not fair he never asked me about it in the first place. Well, now I know why. My lazy bottom would have not voluntarily signed up for the clinics; I would have rather spent my morning in bed sleeping until 10 am. Today, I instruct the clinics he used to sign me up for. The people teaching the clinics are passionate about the game and love to share their knowledge and experience with players who have a softball career still ahead of them. You are living the dreams of players who wish to still be in your footsteps. Take full advantage of all of the opportunities. You will be thinking of various ways to be thanking your dad in the future.

And the list goes on and on…

The main point here is you need to learn how to appreciate someone that cares so much for you and your future. The softball game is not just your happiness but it is there’s too. Seeing you succeed makes them feel as if they did. Think about all the good experiences with your dad during your softball career, and all the awesome memories you two share with each other. Trust me, years from now while you are playing in college, you will miss it all.


Follow Us
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
Recent Posts
bottom of page